List of Indian Prime Ministers till Date


One should be well aware of their nation’s past and present. The Prime Minister of a country is one that plays an important role in the development of the nation. Knowing briefly about them and their office tenures is a basic knowledge you should have.

Keeping that in mind we have provided a list of Indian Prime Ministers till date along with their lifespan, in office tenure and the party they associate with.

NameLife-spanIn office tenureParty association
1Shri Narendra Modi195026 May 2014 – presentBhartiya Janta Party
2Dr. Manmohan Singh193222 May 2004 – 26 May 2014Indian National Congress
3Atal Bihari Vajpayee192619 March 1998 – 22 May 2004Bhartiya Janta Party
4Inder Kumar Gujral1933–201221 April 1997 – 19 March 1998Janta Dal
5H. D. Deve Gowda193301 June 1996 – 21 April 1997Janta Dal
6Atal Bihari Vajpayee192616 May 1996 – 01 June 1996Bhartiya Janta Party
7P. V. Narasimha Rao1921 – 200421 June 1991 – 16 May 1996Indian National Congress
8Chandra Shekhar Singh 1927–200710 November 1990 – 21 June 1991Samajwadi Janta Party
9Vishwanath Pratap Singh1931–200801 December 1989 – 10 November 1990Janta Party
10Rajiv Gandhi1944–199131 October 1984 – 1 December 1989Indian National Congress
11Indira Gandhi1917–198414 January 1980- 31 October 1984Indian National Congress
12Chaudhary Charan Singh1902–198728 July 1979 – 14 January 1980Janta Party
13Morarji Desai1896–199524 March 1977 – 28 July 1979Janta Party
14Indira Gandhi1917–198424 January 1966 -24 March 1977Indian National Congress
15Gulzarilal Nanda1898-199711 January 1966 -24 January 1966Indian National Congress
16Lal Bahadur Shastri1904 –196609 June 1964 -11 January 1966Indian National Congress
17Gulzarilal Nanda1898–199727 May 1964 – 09 June 1964Indian National Congress
18Jawaharlal Nehru1889–19641947–1964Indian National Congress



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here